Military Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

RC "James" TALIB (Pirbright c1966)

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Martine

Martine Report 9 Jul 2015 13:37

Hi

I'm new to all of this. I'm trying to find out any information on the person mentioned in the title. I'm adopted and is my birth father.

The RC refers to his "rank(?)" in the British Army. "James" was apparently the name he went by.

Sorry, not a lot of information, I know, but this is all I have

Thank you for your help!

Martine

+++DetEcTive+++

+++DetEcTive+++ Report 9 Jul 2015 23:51

The combination of fornames in the gro index attached to Talib surname suggest that it may have originated in the Indian sub-continent.

Is he named on your BC? If so, does he give his service number?

It might help if you were to find out which regiment/corps were training there at the time your parents met.

This is the address from the Purbright internet page (intended for recruits)

Commanding Officer HQ Regt
ATC Pirbright,
Alexander Barracks,
Pirbright,
WOKING,
Surrey
GU24 0QQ

If they have to pass the letter on to another department, you may be waiting some time

Gritty

Gritty Report 10 Jul 2015 12:13

Are you sure the RC is a reference to his rank?

British Phone Books, 1880-1984
Name: R C J Talib
Address: 42 Alexandra Rd